Advertisement

Woods of Terror on Church Street Reviews

 
  • 5601 North Church Street
  • Greensboro, NC
  • 336-643-3558
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
Parental discretion advised, no one under the age of 5 will be admitted
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Hay Rides, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Spook Walks / Haunted Trails, Halloween Festivals & Parades, Scream Parks
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified My favorite place to get scared

    I love this place! A must attend every fall. The actors are top notch, the attractions are extremely detailed and all you hear are screams in the woods. The makeup and costumes are unbelievable. The detail and thought that goes into every single thing is very impressive. I would highly recommend!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/20/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing

    I'll be the first to say I was scared but all the characters and the affects were amazing and I would most definitely be going back there.. it's definitely worth what you pay if you ask me

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Creepy

    The wait is long unless you buy a fast pass but it's definitely worth it. The trail is long and entertaining. The actors are phenomenal. Really scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BEST HAUNT EVER!!!

    I go to A LOT of haunted houses and trails during the Halloween season and WOODS OF TERRROR is my FAVORITE!! I have been every year for the past ten years and I make sure I never miss it!! I have never been disappointed and look forward to it every, single year. The owner is one of the nicest, most creative men and he appreciates his employees and his visitors! LOVE WOODS OF TERROR!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Phenomenal

    I visit a lot of haunts every year and this one is by far the best!! So much detail and every attraction is thought out so well!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing

    Long but worth it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Amazing

    Best haunted house ever will definitely go back next year

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 11/5/16

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified My favorite place to get scared

    I love this place! A must attend every fall. The actors are top notch, the attractions are extremely detailed and all you hear are screams in the woods. The makeup and costumes are unbelievable. The detail and thought that goes into every single thing is very impressive. I would highly recommend!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/20/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing

    I'll be the first to say I was scared but all the characters and the affects were amazing and I would most definitely be going back there.. it's definitely worth what you pay if you ask me

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Creepy

    The wait is long unless you buy a fast pass but it's definitely worth it. The trail is long and entertaining. The actors are phenomenal. Really scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BEST HAUNT EVER!!!

    I go to A LOT of haunted houses and trails during the Halloween season and WOODS OF TERRROR is my FAVORITE!! I have been every year for the past ten years and I make sure I never miss it!! I have never been disappointed and look forward to it every, single year. The owner is one of the nicest, most creative men and he appreciates his employees and his visitors! LOVE WOODS OF TERROR!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Phenomenal

    I visit a lot of haunts every year and this one is by far the best!! So much detail and every attraction is thought out so well!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing

    Long but worth it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted 7/19/17

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Amazing

    Best haunted house ever will definitely go back next year

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 11/5/16

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great!

    This is the 2nd year we have visited. Loved it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 10/23/16

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Awful!!!

    My husband and I have went every year for 5 years now. This year has by far been the worst year ever. It wasn't even scary, not enough workers. Most of them didn't even care, or was even trying to scare you. It definitely wasn't worth the $65 we spent. We won't be going back ever again! ?????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 10/22/16

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Awesome!!!!

    It's scary.. it gets in your head.. highly recommend this haunt if you dare. ????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 10/16/16

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • One of the best.

    The woods of terror is one of the best ever. Its creative and excellent and scary. It has professional sets and actors and creates a ambience like none other highly recommended I will definitely be back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 11/1/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • I come back every year

    Out of all of the haunted trials I have been to Woods of Terror is my favorite. Every year the yard something new and they have an awesome system for getting people into the maze without standing in line forever.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 9/9/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Just Amazing!

    Woods of Terror 2011 is freaking amazing! Prepare to be re-named Mr. PeePee Pants!WOT is Huge and just doesn't stop! There are over fifteen haunted attractions and it takes over an hour to through.WOT has it right. From the beginning, they discombobulated us and we just never got our senses back until we got to Spookywoods and were bored back to reality. The first trick at WOT is that there are 2 lines to get started – but they do a great job with crowd control – handing you a playing card so you know when to get in line. It's just tricky because we were ready to go, but it was just another line. They could have been more entertaining during that waiting. Back to that first haunted house: it's disorienting! It's also tricky because it looks like it's going to be a reptile house, but that's just them faking you out! There's a big ass balloon thing we had to squeeze through, but only after letting the even scarier tweens go through ahead of us lest we be molested or trampled by their inability to understand boundaries. Well, once we got through the head to toe balloon using all of our muscles it got worse! WOT is ballsy enough to go for Total Blackout! I mean, no glow in the dark Anything – just pure black maze! Thank God my girlfriend totally freaked, cheated, and lit up her cell, which also created ease for the bumpy tweens so that we could get moving just a little bit. (I know! I know! We're gonna have to go back just to get properly, mental illness creating scared.) So, the cell phone cheating aside, we continued through the first house maze that had us squatting Twice for good periods of time with twists and turns. It was flat out jarring! And it was just the Real beginning!Next, was the corn maze, which really could use some more corn stalks. But here's where I was surprised: I couldn't hear the actors coming for me – so they Got me! Next, there were two school buses ala Jeepers Creepers where some tiny waif of a chick who I swear materialized from the unknown with the sole purpose of scaring me back into the folds of Jesus of the South got me talking in tongues! Then, there was 3D! Now, I hail from the great state of Texas and have been properly imbued with all the inappropriate and disproportionate pride, but when I was getting growed up we didn't have 3D. And so my girlfriend made sure that I got my glasses on real proper so that my curly hair didn't push them off. Well! Well! I didn't need no acid no more! It was great and a total feast for my eyes & senses, the only thing they could have done to make it better was have their actors costumes match the 3D itself – it was too easy to spot the actors – but it was a blast! And it lasted for two houses, partial outdoors, and a spinning tunnel! There's no foreplay or little blue pill at TOW – it's the real deal!And then there was garage band rock, which wasn't very scary in the beginning, but was loud, overwhelming, and fun. I thought it would be over before I experienced my new foreign, God-talking language welling in my gut again, but then another chick started banging the fences with her magickal wand that created sparks so huge I thought she would instantly re-perm my luscious locks And another rocker came out of nowhere to jar me! Imagine being attacked at your hairdressers! I don't think that was the effect they set out to create, but I wonder if that's where Morrissey was inspired to pen Hairdresser on Fire – always a crowd pleaser!Anyway, there was some odd vampire house which seemed more like its existence was to provide relief from being so f-ing jarred! I know the reviews maul this house, which is deserving of mauling, but it also had this great mirror effect for the actors, which will get you. And since I have a dirty mind, the menage a trois room was particularly stimulating!Hollywood! So my partner and I are in our 30s, together we are a Juris Doctorate and PhD Candidate, we love to travel for fun, and are soulmates for the heart-fusing reason of Halloween being our Favorite holiday! We watch horror movies non-stop starting in September until Halloween and then patiently wait all year, anticipation building until the next September. One year, we'll enter August! Anyway, we carve pumpkins, dress up the house in purple lights, and even get costumes for our three dogs. So when we were able to walk through house after house of our favorite Halloween movies, we nearly made a baby! There was Saw, Michael Myers, Jason, Freddie, and you know it: the Texas Chainsaw Massacre! All the best are there! And there are full scenes dedicated to Each one!!!!Then there are pirates and their breath stinks and they're hard to understand what with all that rum swilling. And here's some more freakyfreaky: there's this other maze (right? Cuz ALL the houses are mazes and by the thirteenth maze your honing beacon, like a Garmen that loses signal in the middle of a city, is just more of a hassle (because you remember the comforting warmth of the good ol' days)) and it's a tall fence that gets narrow and then turns sharply in its narrowness and there weren't Any actors. There were plenty of places to insert actors and maybe the economy has hit their ability to hire more goth kids and make them happy for a season, but it's okay because I was once something of a dark kid and to this day all of life coaches tell me that I can 'go dark' at times (which just means that I bask in the dark treacherous places of my soul making me a perfect 4 on the enneagram), and my own horror-movie loving mind filled in the gaps! Now, being freaked out by your mind is usually something that therapists get paid to do to you, but some slates of wood did it to me! I don't even remember the end of it so my girlfriend filled me in. Oh, there were medics! I remember medics! Not for me silly! It was a section, and my girl states that there wasn't anything scary in particular, but that there was a good actor with great timing and he got me good. As she tells it, “You jumped, you literally jumped up and shivers ran through your body twice.” Of course, I don't really remember that, but here it is – the next morning and I'm begging for massages because I drove us back home (after releasing my anger over non-spookywoods) with my shoulders even with my ears believing that medics were after me. I'm 32 and I walked out of Woods of Terror trembling.

    Posted 10/10/11

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?