Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Woods of Terror on Church Street Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 5601 North Church Street
  • Greensboro, NC
  • 336-643-3558
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
Parental discretion advised, no one under the age of 5 will be admitted
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Hay Rides, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Haunted Trails, Pumpkin Patches, Halloween Festivals & Parades, Scream Parks, Hay Rides (Kid Friendly), Safe Trick or Treating
Review This Haunt
  • Amazing!!!

    The waiting area was one of the funnest parts! The trail its self was amazing. The actors were great and the set up was awesome and the props they used, looked and felt so real. I’m definitely coming back!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • pissed myself

    As embarrassing as it is, the Woods of Terror made me pee myself. Im very jumpy and this one actor scared the hell out of me. Embarrassing yes, fun yes, shameful just a little bit ;) Great costumes and lots of details!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not worth the money at all and we had the all access passes

    Best part of the whole thing was walking around taking pictures with the people outside of the haunted house!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Definitely Top 10 Material

    This is the BEST haunted house I've ever been to. This place has top of the line sets and effects, movie quality costumes and makeup and even a live band! WOT has something for everyone. It's not recommended for children under 13 though. Check out Woods of Terror this haunt season - you will regret it if you don't!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Disappointment

    Not scary at all. Not worth my money . Best thing was taking pictures with the people outside the trail. Was extremely disappointed.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted trail

    Great haunted trail the owner is very nice and cares about his guests lots of hard work and dedication put into the trail and details in every attraction well worth the money can also take pictures with the owner

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted attraction

    Great haunted attraction owner is very nice and caring well planned out lots of hard work and dedication put into his work and each attraction details

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing!!!

    The waiting area was one of the funnest parts! The trail its self was amazing. The actors were great and the set up was awesome and the props they used, looked and felt so real. I’m definitely coming back!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • pissed myself

    As embarrassing as it is, the Woods of Terror made me pee myself. Im very jumpy and this one actor scared the hell out of me. Embarrassing yes, fun yes, shameful just a little bit ;) Great costumes and lots of details!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not worth the money at all and we had the all access passes

    Best part of the whole thing was walking around taking pictures with the people outside of the haunted house!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Definitely Top 10 Material

    This is the BEST haunted house I've ever been to. This place has top of the line sets and effects, movie quality costumes and makeup and even a live band! WOT has something for everyone. It's not recommended for children under 13 though. Check out Woods of Terror this haunt season - you will regret it if you don't!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Disappointment

    Not scary at all. Not worth my money . Best thing was taking pictures with the people outside the trail. Was extremely disappointed.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted trail

    Great haunted trail the owner is very nice and cares about his guests lots of hard work and dedication put into the trail and details in every attraction well worth the money can also take pictures with the owner

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted attraction

    Great haunted attraction owner is very nice and caring well planned out lots of hard work and dedication put into his work and each attraction details

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great

    Great haunted attraction lots of time and money/work put in very planned out no waiting in line

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunt ever

    Greatest haunt ever. Actors and staff are great. Owner is very caring for all his staff. If they need something he will be there for them..also wants to make sure everyone has had something to eat bf the event.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing!

    This place is awesome in several ways. Im extremely picky about "haunted attractions" & this is an 8 hour drive from me. It was worth the trip 100%, lots of cool things to do while waiting, they have plenty of food and beverage options, music, smaller attractions & workers everywhere in costume. The attraction itself is not too long that it drags out, and not short. Its just the right length. No boring moments. Everything is well done & looks awesome. And GREAT scares & themes. The workers are really cool and personable. I've recommended this place for years.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted August 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Best Haunted Attraction Ever

    Woods of Terror is by far the best haunted attraction in NC and possibly in the country. They have everything from a live band, concessions and a gift shop, plus 14 terrifying haunted houses all for one reasonable price! No matter where you're from - Go see the Woods of Terror!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Sumptuous terror

    It was sumptuous terror at the woods last time and we all were excited about visiting it again. Went with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The waiting area was so much fun. Enjoyed the fire and relaxed listening to the music DJ played. The dance floor was alive and we shook legs with the monsters. Monsters did their job well spooking and making us laugh. It was an unique arrangement with each group getting assigned a movie name. We will be referred to with that name. Stupendous effort with the set, make up, props and special effects. It was a good time with the family and was fun. We love to be here next time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Actors were terrifying

    We loved our time in this haunted walk through and it was one of the best. The actors were terrifying and their makeover was stunning that added to the gruesomeness. The set and location were meticulously planned. It was fun to anticipate fear and you see that in every nook and corner. It is a family owned business and they have managed it really well. No hassles from the parking lot till the exit. Excitedly waiting for the next season to have fun.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Excellent haunt

    Excellent haunted attraction! It had intense scares and so many more elements than having someone jumping out at you. As you walk through the woods, you’ll see so many scare characters and creepy sets. My niece was scared out her wits by the chainsaw guy. Actors were passionate and professional. Overall, we had a great time in there.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Worth every penny

    100% terrifying! Scare was worth every penny.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BEST HAUNTED TRAIL EVER

    My friend was so scared that he almost didn't want to finish walking through. This attraction has REAL MOVIE SETS, authentic monsters, and a great staff. The monster parade really got me in the Halloween spirit! Love this place and would suggest that if you love horror and Halloween that this is a must go to attraction. Much better than all the rest of the haunted woods and we have been to all of them in the triangle and triad scouting to shoot our movie. People in this thread complain about the ATM but using an ATM anywhere costs money, right? No one was complaining at the Woods of Terror. Everyone was having fun. I have nothing to gain from this review but when people put in hard work and create something so amazing I feel they should get the recognition they deserve. For as much work that they put into the attraction with real movie sets, your favorite movie monsters, and these huge dragons that come out of the walls to eat you, it was simply AMAZING! The price was very affordable, the food was great, and the monsters in the middle (scary killer clowns) that scare you randomly, while you are talking to your friends getting something from the food stalls, will make you want to go cry in the no scare zone (where you are safe from being scared because it is so scary). It was like being in a movie! They have a DJ, bands, and a dance floor. They also had gift shops, food stalls, and other attractions besides for the trail. Great experience! You have to see it for yourself.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Incredible set

    By far one of the best in the area. The haunt is long enough, and features incredible set designs, special effects, and lots of scare characters that gives you a tough time in there. Lighting effects and creepy interiors stood out. The man with the snake scared the crap out of my wife. We were chased by the chainsaw guy. The maze was confusing. We also managed to snap few photos with the scare actors. If you are looking for a haunt with good scares, this is the one. Recommend this.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Pretty scary

    Pretty scary. Great actors!! The special effects, props, and animatronics keeps you on your toes all the time. Worth the $$$.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Lots of fun

    10/10 recommended. We really enjoyed ourselves and screamed our way through. We definitely had lots of fun and would return.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Beautiful and breath taking

    It was beautiful and breath taking. The waiting area was so much fun. It had a lot of option for entertainment that made the wait less boring. The ghouls were scary as they just appeared out of thin air, startling us again and again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Fantastic job

    Drove for two hours to reach the place. The lines were long, but the live band kept us entertained. The actors did a fantastic job and honestly scared me and my BF repeatedly. There were some true intense moments and I screamed few times to be honest. The creepy clown freaked me out. Special effects, 3D and lighting effects stood out. Actors all did a professional job I thought. Their costumes/makeup was realistic. Check it out if you want to enjoy some good thumping scares.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Memorable evening

    Do not miss this haunt for anything else. Well worth the effort and money you spend. The quality of haunts is good here. The crowd was managed well and we got to enjoy the scares first hand. The woods were neatly set and long enough for us to get a hang of it. Was able to enjoy the efforts of hard work and it was fantastic. Thank you to the crew for making this evening a memorable one.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Wicked scary

    We had purchased the All Access Pass and it’s really worthy. I won’t recommend it to kids as all the attractions are wicked scary. These attractions are mainly designed to adults and teens. Walk through woods was very spooky and there are good chances you might freak out and run for your life. The house has many monsters that are ready to jump upon and we may not able to make a move out of fear. Midway attractions, Hellavator ride and 3D psychedelic were amazing experience and really enjoyed. If you enter here once then you will stop going to other haunts.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Blackout was super scary

    I and my cousins had a blast.. the actors and houses were fantastic and the whole experience was terrifying.. the blackout was super scary… if you got an inherent fear for darkness, this will scare you out of your wits.. the actors all played their part well. The food at the commons area was awesome. I will certainly come back with my husband and kids.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Scare factor was average

    The scare factor was just average.. my GF was laughing at one point. The chainsaw guy tried his best to scare us.. The sets were Ok, if not great. Some actors were better than the others..but maybe I was a bit too brave for their antics.. anyways, I found it mediocre. Visit at your own risk.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Fun night

    Loved it

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Perfect horror

    Amazing place for a perfect horror Halloween enjoyment with family. Above average scares, actors are in good costumes and performers are highly skilled. Scary attractions and all well maintained. Awakening, Blood house and Phobia were ultimate terror factors that you enjoy each minute in there. Third dimension was a new experience it’s really interesting.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Scary

    This was the most scariest hunted place I’ve been to, they scare you from the start. Very good actors the only thing I didn’t like was the total blackout! Especially when you get shock, that really hurt and when you have to put on the hood? Smelled bad but over all was very fun and I will be back next year!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Scary and entertaining

    I and my GF drove about two hours to reach the Woods of Terror..but it was worth the drive. Ticket rates were reasonable to start with. It was one of the best haunted walk-throughs I’ve been to. The themed areas were scary, yet entertaining. The actors did their job to perfection. The props and sets were great as well. The food and drinks were awesome too. I would recommend this place for everyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Brilliant creativity

    I could brief it as a brilliant creativity. We absolutely enjoyed our time at Woods of terror. Each attraction offers spine-tingling adventure. Movie classics and phobia were insane. Monster midway, house and stalkers were super creativity. The people behind are very talented and I highly recommend Woods for a great night out.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Perfect walk through woods

    Perfect walk of an hour through the woods along with evil spirits. Great actors and very friendly staff. Could be a few dollars less.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Some scares were good

    Went here with my wife.. some of the scares were good.. the scare factor was not as we’d expected.. the stitches got a grotesque face.. Actors all put in their best efforts to scare us.. usually, my wife screams and jumps few times on average at every haunt we’d visited..but this time, she was more composed. The ticket rates were a bit expensive I thought.. To sum it up, it is good for a one time-visit at best!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunt EVER

    I've been going to WOT every year for about 8 years now and I have never once been disappointed. The actors do their best to scare the living daylights out of people and trust me, it works. The parade is awesome!! Even if you have to wait awhile to get into the woods, the midway is great and keeps you entertained the whole time. There's great food and great actors just roaming through the midway! I've been to quite a few other haunted trails/houses and I can honestly say this is by far the best. 100% recommend WOT to anyone!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Fantastic and Frightening

    Fantastic and Frightening! A place to have multiple attractions at a decent admission fee. We went in a group of three and we all had awesome time. Got the fast pass tickets to skip the queue. All attractions were well designed and backed by highly professional actors. Impressed by the special effects and animatronics as they added a new taste of scare for us. The best for us was Blood House as it was new for us to encounter vampires and it was fun and full of scare. Overall, a well spent evening at Woods of Terror.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not frightening

    The haunt was not frightening.. it came as a big disappointment for me, especially since I drove about 2hrs to reach here.. the actor’s make up was a let-down..none of their acts evoked any sense of fear in me.. not worth the money you spent on tickets.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified The best of the best!

    Woods of Terror is simply put, the most outstanding and terrifying haunt I have EVER walked through. My favorite attraction there has to be the clown house. It's vibrant, spooky, and the actors put in 110% effort. I try to come every year and each year I come back, they top my expectations and leave me feeling scared but completely satisfied! I wouldn't be surprised if this year, Woods of Terror will be the greatest it's ever been. This is honestly the number one Haunted Attraction in North Carolina!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Posted September 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified 10/10 would recommend

    This place is amazing. The makeup is so real. The actors will blow your mind. They REALLY get into your head. I went last year and Arachnaphobia had me so scared I thought I wasn't going to make it!!! This haunt really knows what they're doing. The vampires were so realistic, too! But my FAVORITE attraction had to be Texas Chainsaw Massacre. That movie scared me to the point of nightmares and they really brought it to life there! 10/10 would recommend. Cannot wait to go back this season!!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 21-30 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great place to go to

    Love it it was so fun to go to can't wait to go again

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Can I make this my second home

    I truly wish WOT could operate all year long, but I impatiently wait for Halloween to roll around again to make a visit. I live out of state, but make plans each year to attend the haunt! I have been to plenty of hats and this one is far most the best!! Keep up the good work and haunt on!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified My favorite place to get scared

    I love this place! A must attend every fall. The actors are top notch, the attractions are extremely detailed and all you hear are screams in the woods. The makeup and costumes are unbelievable. The detail and thought that goes into every single thing is very impressive. I would highly recommend!!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing

    I'll be the first to say I was scared but all the characters and the affects were amazing and I would most definitely be going back there.. it's definitely worth what you pay if you ask me

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Creepy

    The wait is long unless you buy a fast pass but it's definitely worth it. The trail is long and entertaining. The actors are phenomenal. Really scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified BEST HAUNT EVER!!!

    I go to A LOT of haunted houses and trails during the Halloween season and WOODS OF TERRROR is my FAVORITE!! I have been every year for the past ten years and I make sure I never miss it!! I have never been disappointed and look forward to it every, single year. The owner is one of the nicest, most creative men and he appreciates his employees and his visitors! LOVE WOODS OF TERROR!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Phenomenal

    I visit a lot of haunts every year and this one is by far the best!! So much detail and every attraction is thought out so well!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Amazing

    Long but worth it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted July 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Amazing

    Best haunted house ever will definitely go back next year

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great!

    This is the 2nd year we have visited. Loved it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Awful!!!

    My husband and I have went every year for 5 years now. This year has by far been the worst year ever. It wasn't even scary, not enough workers. Most of them didn't even care, or was even trying to scare you. It definitely wasn't worth the $65 we spent. We won't be going back ever again! ?????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Awesome!!!!

    It's scary.. it gets in your head.. highly recommend this haunt if you dare. ????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • One of the best.

    The woods of terror is one of the best ever. Its creative and excellent and scary. It has professional sets and actors and creates a ambience like none other highly recommended I will definitely be back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • I come back every year

    Out of all of the haunted trials I have been to Woods of Terror is my favorite. Every year the yard something new and they have an awesome system for getting people into the maze without standing in line forever.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    8 out of 8 found this review helpful

  • Just Amazing!

    Woods of Terror 2011 is freaking amazing! Prepare to be re-named Mr. PeePee Pants!WOT is Huge and just doesn't stop! There are over fifteen haunted attractions and it takes over an hour to through.WOT has it right. From the beginning, they discombobulated us and we just never got our senses back until we got to Spookywoods and were bored back to reality. The first trick at WOT is that there are 2 lines to get started – but they do a great job with crowd control – handing you a playing card so you know when to get in line. It's just tricky because we were ready to go, but it was just another line. They could have been more entertaining during that waiting. Back to that first haunted house: it's disorienting! It's also tricky because it looks like it's going to be a reptile house, but that's just them faking you out! There's a big ass balloon thing we had to squeeze through, but only after letting the even scarier tweens go through ahead of us lest we be molested or trampled by their inability to understand boundaries. Well, once we got through the head to toe balloon using all of our muscles it got worse! WOT is ballsy enough to go for Total Blackout! I mean, no glow in the dark Anything – just pure black maze! Thank God my girlfriend totally freaked, cheated, and lit up her cell, which also created ease for the bumpy tweens so that we could get moving just a little bit. (I know! I know! We're gonna have to go back just to get properly, mental illness creating scared.) So, the cell phone cheating aside, we continued through the first house maze that had us squatting Twice for good periods of time with twists and turns. It was flat out jarring! And it was just the Real beginning!Next, was the corn maze, which really could use some more corn stalks. But here's where I was surprised: I couldn't hear the actors coming for me – so they Got me! Next, there were two school buses ala Jeepers Creepers where some tiny waif of a chick who I swear materialized from the unknown with the sole purpose of scaring me back into the folds of Jesus of the South got me talking in tongues! Then, there was 3D! Now, I hail from the great state of Texas and have been properly imbued with all the inappropriate and disproportionate pride, but when I was getting growed up we didn't have 3D. And so my girlfriend made sure that I got my glasses on real proper so that my curly hair didn't push them off. Well! Well! I didn't need no acid no more! It was great and a total feast for my eyes & senses, the only thing they could have done to make it better was have their actors costumes match the 3D itself – it was too easy to spot the actors – but it was a blast! And it lasted for two houses, partial outdoors, and a spinning tunnel! There's no foreplay or little blue pill at TOW – it's the real deal!And then there was garage band rock, which wasn't very scary in the beginning, but was loud, overwhelming, and fun. I thought it would be over before I experienced my new foreign, God-talking language welling in my gut again, but then another chick started banging the fences with her magickal wand that created sparks so huge I thought she would instantly re-perm my luscious locks And another rocker came out of nowhere to jar me! Imagine being attacked at your hairdressers! I don't think that was the effect they set out to create, but I wonder if that's where Morrissey was inspired to pen Hairdresser on Fire – always a crowd pleaser!Anyway, there was some odd vampire house which seemed more like its existence was to provide relief from being so f-ing jarred! I know the reviews maul this house, which is deserving of mauling, but it also had this great mirror effect for the actors, which will get you. And since I have a dirty mind, the menage a trois room was particularly stimulating!Hollywood! So my partner and I are in our 30s, together we are a Juris Doctorate and PhD Candidate, we love to travel for fun, and are soulmates for the heart-fusing reason of Halloween being our Favorite holiday! We watch horror movies non-stop starting in September until Halloween and then patiently wait all year, anticipation building until the next September. One year, we'll enter August! Anyway, we carve pumpkins, dress up the house in purple lights, and even get costumes for our three dogs. So when we were able to walk through house after house of our favorite Halloween movies, we nearly made a baby! There was Saw, Michael Myers, Jason, Freddie, and you know it: the Texas Chainsaw Massacre! All the best are there! And there are full scenes dedicated to Each one!!!!Then there are pirates and their breath stinks and they're hard to understand what with all that rum swilling. And here's some more freakyfreaky: there's this other maze (right? Cuz ALL the houses are mazes and by the thirteenth maze your honing beacon, like a Garmen that loses signal in the middle of a city, is just more of a hassle (because you remember the comforting warmth of the good ol' days)) and it's a tall fence that gets narrow and then turns sharply in its narrowness and there weren't Any actors. There were plenty of places to insert actors and maybe the economy has hit their ability to hire more goth kids and make them happy for a season, but it's okay because I was once something of a dark kid and to this day all of life coaches tell me that I can 'go dark' at times (which just means that I bask in the dark treacherous places of my soul making me a perfect 4 on the enneagram), and my own horror-movie loving mind filled in the gaps! Now, being freaked out by your mind is usually something that therapists get paid to do to you, but some slates of wood did it to me! I don't even remember the end of it so my girlfriend filled me in. Oh, there were medics! I remember medics! Not for me silly! It was a section, and my girl states that there wasn't anything scary in particular, but that there was a good actor with great timing and he got me good. As she tells it, “You jumped, you literally jumped up and shivers ran through your body twice.” Of course, I don't really remember that, but here it is – the next morning and I'm begging for massages because I drove us back home (after releasing my anger over non-spookywoods) with my shoulders even with my ears believing that medics were after me. I'm 32 and I walked out of Woods of Terror trembling.

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    6 out of 7 found this review helpful

Woods of Terror on Church Street
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?