Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Hillside Horror Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 2122 Hoots Road
  • Roaring River, NC
  • 336-452-2800
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
all ages
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Hay Rides, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes, Haunted Trails, Scream Parks
Review This Haunt
  • Great, but be warned

    Now after working Hillside Horror 2014-2016, going through the trail 2017, and working the trail again in 2018 I though I knew what to expect. I was DEAD wrong! The location was new and the trail seemed completely new too. Since I've worked there the people working the trail knew me, and I got so many shout-outs and was called by name frequently. That was inetractive and fun! The monsters don't just scare you. They interact wih you which is great! The scary rabbit at the end is great, but really every actor did a good job. My friends Autumn and Joel had good scenes. There are some genuine fearful moments and there wasn't one little bit where I was bored. The only bad things were the cold weather (not their fault), and the uneven terrain. I have myotonic dystrophy and am not a coordinated walker so I dount bothers most patrons. If you have leg issues make sure you have someone with you who knows and can help you (a cane won't work). I had two times where I almost fell, but my bestie kept me standing. I avioded the wacky house because Autumn told me to. There are very disorienting ptch drak m oments where you can't see and that is so bright you can't see. Truthfully I didn't like those scenes much. They weren't too long, but you didn't more than two or three. Overall though if you like haunts this is essential. Twenty dollars is the cost (totally worth it), and you may want to bundle up. I regreting not using gloves, but go to this one if you're into this. You will not be disappointed!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Yes

    George W Bush was amazing and I give him 52/10 starsThis was the most fun ever and it was super scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Wolfie

    This one of the best places to go if you want to be scared.. Lots of fun & friendly people.. I also have worked here for 5 years.. Its a must see come out & have some fun & get scared

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome haunt

    Much scarier than some of the higher dollar haunts around. This is more up in your face scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Would recommend for kids

    It was okay, wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. The characters were good and so was the scenery. Sadly wasn't for adults or teens more or less for kids. I have more to say about another place that is more for grown adults "Spooky woods".

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified I feared the difference

    I went to hillside horror twice last year and I feared the difference. A great bunch of people I loved it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Bring Clean Underwear!!!

    Went last night, WOW!!! We are home haunters and have been around to other area haunts. THIS IS THE BEST!!! The farm is ideal setting with lots of great scaracters going for the screams! I highly recommend Hillside Horror!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great, but be warned

    Now after working Hillside Horror 2014-2016, going through the trail 2017, and working the trail again in 2018 I though I knew what to expect. I was DEAD wrong! The location was new and the trail seemed completely new too. Since I've worked there the people working the trail knew me, and I got so many shout-outs and was called by name frequently. That was inetractive and fun! The monsters don't just scare you. They interact wih you which is great! The scary rabbit at the end is great, but really every actor did a good job. My friends Autumn and Joel had good scenes. There are some genuine fearful moments and there wasn't one little bit where I was bored. The only bad things were the cold weather (not their fault), and the uneven terrain. I have myotonic dystrophy and am not a coordinated walker so I dount bothers most patrons. If you have leg issues make sure you have someone with you who knows and can help you (a cane won't work). I had two times where I almost fell, but my bestie kept me standing. I avioded the wacky house because Autumn told me to. There are very disorienting ptch drak m oments where you can't see and that is so bright you can't see. Truthfully I didn't like those scenes much. They weren't too long, but you didn't more than two or three. Overall though if you like haunts this is essential. Twenty dollars is the cost (totally worth it), and you may want to bundle up. I regreting not using gloves, but go to this one if you're into this. You will not be disappointed!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Yes

    George W Bush was amazing and I give him 52/10 starsThis was the most fun ever and it was super scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Wolfie

    This one of the best places to go if you want to be scared.. Lots of fun & friendly people.. I also have worked here for 5 years.. Its a must see come out & have some fun & get scared

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome haunt

    Much scarier than some of the higher dollar haunts around. This is more up in your face scary.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Would recommend for kids

    It was okay, wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. The characters were good and so was the scenery. Sadly wasn't for adults or teens more or less for kids. I have more to say about another place that is more for grown adults "Spooky woods".

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified I feared the difference

    I went to hillside horror twice last year and I feared the difference. A great bunch of people I loved it.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Bring Clean Underwear!!!

    Went last night, WOW!!! We are home haunters and have been around to other area haunts. THIS IS THE BEST!!! The farm is ideal setting with lots of great scaracters going for the screams! I highly recommend Hillside Horror!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Best Corn Maze Ever!

    I have known Joe for many years and have gone to his events for the past 10 years. This year he has it all right. 2019 is the best yet! Thanks for all you and your team does each year Joe

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Full of horrific scary trails! Awesome!

    My first experience in a hunted trail! The site is pretty amazing scary! If you like be scared, this is the place to go!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Was awesomely scary and fun.

    This haunted trail is great. The actors stay in character and do a great job haunting. Wear good shoes its called hillside for a reason lol

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best Spook EVER!!!

    Looking for a good spook? You should go check out Hillside Horror! The characters are amazing, the trail is super spooktacular, with lots of giggles and screams to keep you on your toes! From the moment you are ushered down the trail on a hayride to the moment your return from complete chaos, you are guaranteed to have a BLAST!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Hillside Horror NC.

    The most fun you have being scared, everyone at hillside is great I loved the effects the characters. I recommend anyone who hasn't been to Hillside to go check it out. You'll love it to death. Thank you for a great time: Larry Fish

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best haunted trail hands down

    Very scary great actors it scary and fun

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted Attraction

    First time visiting this year and it was awesome. The ride down to the trail is creepy enough to start your scare game. Upon arrival it just gets better, through dark, cold, and creepy houses into corn field with the monsters who reside their into the tunnel and play house. It was all around the best I have ever been to and would love to go again!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome

    Me and my kids love Haunted stuff! So excited!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • I Loved it

    loved the hayride and corn maze, the rest was good also

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Fear the difference

    Awesome place to go everybody is friendly

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Hillside is the best in town

    Me and my boys go here each year and it get better each time. I just can't wait to see what they do next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Amazing haunt!

    I have been the past couple of years and loved every moment!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • scary

    It is very well organized and the scenes are very creative. People are friendly and put a good show. The only thing is I think the price is high compared to other haunted places I have been to that are just as good!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Absolutely terrifying

    We didn't think it would be so scary honestly but it exceeded our expectations when when walked through the first section! Definitely coming back!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Always a blast

    This is an annual tradition for us and we always have a wonderful time. The attraction is well organized and runs smoothly. Changes a little every year so it is not always predictable. We laugh a lot and scream a little too.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified RATING

    THIS IS ONE OF THE PLACES TO GO FOR A SPOOKY TIME..... WE CANT WAIT UNTIL THIS WEEKEND TO GO THIS YEAR.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome

    Great set up, great trail -- this was my first year and I wasn't disappointed

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Loved it!

    We had a ball this year(we came last year). Nothing scares us so we just go for fun really, but we both jumped a couple times! We drove 2 hours and it was worth it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Great time

    Took my daughter for the first time and she was very nervous but really enjoyed it. And is now hooked on haunted trails and houses. Thanks for a great night.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Absolutely love this place

    Been going 3 times per year for the past two years. Awesome workers and actors.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Love this trail!

    I absolutely love this trail! I have been every year for the past 5 years! There is always something new and I have never left disappointed!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not scary!

    Very disappointed boring at times nobody was doing any scaring didn't see any clowns absolutely nothing scary

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best Haunt For A Great Scare!

    The wait was not that bad and they kept you entertained with a few spooky guest while waiting to enter. My favorite part was Piggy, you was greated by his keeper and before you know it you're locked in with him as he jumps out and is crawling and thrashing around at your feet while making these terrifying sounds. The only things I didn't like was the corn... The monsters wasn't scaring at times and you would go awhile without a scare and the other was the Old Western scene, it wasn't scary at all was just loud.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted April 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Rude

    It was a good 45 minute walk through, however, there were plenty of places that they could've had more scenes. I'd say a good 25 out of 45 minutes of the walkthrough was us just walking through the woods with no scares. Also, the actors were VERY rude! TWO different actors called my cousin ugly and one of them kept calling my dad a woman! Other than that we had fun.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great People, Great Scare

    This was the first local halloween attraction I had been to in 12 years. The staff was courteous, friendly, yet very good at ALWAYS playing their role. I highly recommend this haunt.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Was fun but not as scary as I thought I was going to be

    If the was me actors more places to go through I would be fUn too

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted November 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Great Job!!

    I had never screamed in my life this hard. All of the haunted houses I have been to has not been near this scary. The clowns were not scary they were funny but people beating on trash cans and coming up behind you were really haunted and scary! If you love scary things then this is totally for you!! The price is good and the crops and makeup people they have are fantastic! I am planning to bring bunch of friends and make them scared as much as I was. Keep doing a great job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Overall Good Trail

    I visited Hillside Horror in mid October 2014. It was a very good value for the price, but the only issue was that there was few actors the night I went. You would walk 3-4 minutes and not see anyone. The decorations were great, and so was the length of trail, around 1 hour or a little more. I will visit again mostl likely this year and hope there is more actors. I would overall reccomend it though.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • AWESOME!!

    This trail offers so many surprises every year. You really get a lot for ur money :)

    Posted May 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Awesome

    I work here and i believe that we have a awesome scare factor.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Ehhhh

    I was expecting it to be a little more scary. Has potential to be scarier if they had more actors.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Awesome, creepy

    These guys are amazing, I rate the scare factor as 100, they are not the most advanced as far as props and sets but that's what makes it so creepy, by far the best in north Carolina, Joe Clay and his staff have done an awesome job, I never get scared at these things but this one got me,

    Posted November 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Great Time

    This is one of the best attractions I have been too. It was organized very well and the Champion Fire Department did a wonderful job putting this together. For an extra fee and signed waiver you could take a ride in a coffin in the back of a hearse. What a great idea! Cannot wait until next year, I plan on taking a big group! Well Done!

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Beware, intenseivly scary

    This is by far the scariest haunted attraction ive ever been to. I have been to a lot and I never scream. this one got me. from the hayride to the clowns, watch your back. they will make you scream.

    Posted October 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • awesome time!

    the corn maze was the best but it was all good. hard to beat a hayride corn maze and trail for $10

    Posted July 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • The actors remain in character, jumping out at you from every angle. You're constantly scared. Great time!

    Posted October 2011

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

Hillside Horror
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?